April 23, 2015

Provost Dru Marshall reappointed for second term

Message to the campus community from President Elizabeth Cannon
Dru Marshall has been reappointed for a second five-year term as provost and vice-president (academic) at the University of Calgary.

Dru Marshall has been reappointed as provost and vice-president (academic).

I am pleased to announce that Dru Marshall has been reappointed for a second five-year term as provost and vice-president (academic) at the University of Calgary.

An Advisory Review Committee (ARC) was established in the spring to review the provost for consideration of reappointment for a second five-year term. The committee sought feedback from the university community and reached out to key external stakeholders. Thank you to everyone who took the time to provide input.

As provost and vice-president (academic), Dru has been a driving force behind the university’s successful Eyes High strategic direction. Her leadership in developing the university’s Academic Plan has had an enormous and positive impact across the institution, and set seven priorities for the academy: talent attraction, development and retention; teaching and research integration; interdisciplinarity; leadership; internationalization; connection with community; and sustainability. She has recruited an excellent team in senior leadership roles, and with the vice-president (research) created 50 new assistant professors as strategic hires to move the university forward in key academic and research areas.

Dru’s range of achievements at the university is impressive. She has been tireless in improving the university experience for both students and faculty, working with the academy to develop innovative initiatives such as the Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning, and the Academic Leadership Academy. She led and developed the university’s International Strategy, including an International Task Force on Recruitment; led the learning technologies task force; has been instrumental in developing an Integrated Framework for Education and Research on Sustainability; and is now co-leading a task force to develop the university’s first mental health strategy. Dru has also shown leadership in the development and implementation of a new budget model at the university during challenging times. 

In addition, Dru is a recognized leader in post-secondary education across the province through her participation on numerous Campus Alberta task forces and committees. She is also actively involved with her U15 colleagues across the country.

Dru began her first term as provost and vice-president (academic) on Aug. 1, 2011. Prior to her appointment, she spent 30 years in a variety of influential and distinguished roles at the University of Alberta. She is regarded as one of Alberta’s most experienced academic leaders and administrators and has been published as a recognized expert in the field of exercise physiology.

As the chair of the Advisory Review Committee, I would like to thank the members for undertaking this extensive consultation process. They were: Richard Sigurdson, dean, Faculty of Arts (Deans’ Council); Jim Dewald, dean, Haskayne School of Business (Deans’ Council); Michele Jacobsen, associate dean (graduate programs), Werklund School of Education (General Faculties Council); Tina Gabriele, associate dean (Academic), Faculty of Kinesiology (General Faculties Council); Robert Barclay, Department Head, Department of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science (General Faculties Council); Sandra Hoenle, president, University of Calgary Faculty Association; Jocelyn Spurr, talent development coordinator, Human Resources (MaPs); Brian Gromoff, simulated client coordinator, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (AUPE); Jarrett Henry, president, Students’ Union; Sarah Akierman, president, Graduate Students’ Association; Firoz Talakshi, member, Board of Governors; and Bill Smith, alumnus and founder, Legal Innovations (community member). 

Please join me in congratulating Dru on her reappointment.

Elizabeth Cannon