Staff

Our School is supported by a team of committed academic administrators, technical support staff, managers and professionals.

Dean's Office

Lorena Congdon

Lorena Congdon
Executive Assistant

  • Scheduling and communication for SAPL Dean
  • Academic HR liaison

+1 (403) 220-6606
dean@sapl.ucalgary.ca 

Operations and Administration

Tracy Beauregard

Tracy Beauregard
Manager, Faculty Operations, Admin & Facilities

  • SAPL operations including building and maintenance issues
  • Health & Safety

+1 (403) 220-6721
tracy.beauregard@ucalgary.ca

Amy Hoover

Amy Hoover
Faculty & Research Administrative Assistant

  • ID card/SAPL doors activation
  • Room and equipment bookings
  • Study Abroad programs
  • Awards and scholarships
  • Administrative support to Josh Taron, Barry Wylant

amy.hoover@ucalgary.ca

Natalie J

Natalia J.
Associate Deans, Certificates and Chairs Coordinator

 

  • Administrative support to Catherine Hamel and Dr. Mary-Ellen Tyler, Dr. Craig S. Gerlach and Dr. Sarah Skett
  • Accreditation coordination

 

+1 (403) 220-7932
natalia.jezierska@ucalgary.ca

Admissions & Programs

Jennifer Taillefer

Jennifer Taillefer
Academic Programs Coordinator

 

  • Coordinates admissions and recruitment for undergraduate and graduate programs
  • Main contact for MEDes, PhD and DDes program requirements 
  • University of Calgary policies and regulations

+1 (403) 220-4388
Professional Faculties 2188
jtaillef@ucalgary.ca
admissions@sapl.ucalgary.ca

Jonas Tenold

Jonas Tenold
Graduate Program Administrator

 

  • Main contact for course-based masters students
  • Questions about registration, enrolment, course waivers, exemptions and advanced credit
  • Administrative processes, such as deferrals of term work, program extensions, final grades and leaves of absence
  • Program requirements and University of Calgary policies and regulations

+1 (403) 220-5098
Professional Faculties 2186
jrtenold@ucalgary.ca

Fabrication & Workshop

Guy Gardner

Guy Gardner
Digital Fabrication Lab Technician

  • Manages digital fabrication equipment (robots, laser cutters and large format 3D printers), workspaces and safety procedures and protocols at the City Building Design Lab
  • Facilitates SAPL’s research-related activities through the development of tools and protocols for digital fabrication

City Building Design Lab
gegardne@ucalgary.ca

Darren Jakal

Darren Jakal
Workshop Technician

  • Assists students with matters relating to fabrication, model making, shop health and safety, CNC technology, laser cutting and 3D printing

+1 (403) 220-8037
Professional Faculties 1117
djakal@ucalgary.ca

Joe Sabourin

Joe Sabourin
Workshop Technician

  • Assists students with matters relating to fabrication, model making, shop health and safety, CNC technology, laser cutting and 3D printing

+1 (403) 220-8036
Professional Faculties 1113
fhickli@ucalgary.ca

Nathan Tremblay

Nathan Tremblay
Workshop Supervisor

  • Manages workshop operations, including safety, risk, training
  • Helps students with matters relating to fabrication, model making, shop health and safety, CNC-technology laser-cutting and 3D printing

+1 (403) 220-8037
Professional Faculties 1119
nftrembl@ucalgary.ca

CBDLab, Events & Research

Jes Alder

Jes Alder
Event Specialist

  • Events and special projects
  • Primary contact for CBDLab and oversees daily operations

+1 (403) 220-6220
jalder@ucalgary.ca
events@sapl.ucalgary.ca

Headshot needed

Jonathan Jucker
Research Facilitator

  • Administration of research projects; coordinates research-related opportunities and projects
  • Manages grant and research funding application processes from the development of proposals to project set-up
  • Supports SAPL research-related activities
  • Supports researchers in developing research opportunities

City Building Design Lab
jonathan.jucker@ucalgary.ca
research.innovation@sapl.ucalgary.ca

Marketing, Communications, Exhibitions, Competitions

Vita Leung

Vita Leung
Manager, Marketing & Communications

  • Manages SAPL’s brand, visual identity, promotions and communications programs
  • Community engagement, programs and partnerships contact
  • Exhibitions, competitions and podcast contact
  • Media contact
  • Events, newsletters, and story ideas contact

+1 (403) 220-5323
vita.leung@ucalgary.ca

Nicola Johnson

Nicola Johnson
Marketing Strategist 

  • Social Media
  • Supports SAPL promotions: feature writing, editing, web communication, events, and relationship building

nicola.johnson@ucalgary.ca
design.matters@ucalgary.ca

Podcast

Co-hosted by students in partnership with CJSW Radio 90.9FM.

Episodes can be found on Apple Podcasts.

podcast@sapl.ucalgary.ca

Development

Trish Matheson

Trish Matheson
Director, Development and Alumni Engagement

  • Develops fundraising strategies for SAPL in partnership with the dean, faculty members and volunteers
  • Facilitates SAPL’s alumni engagement strategy in collaboration with the dean and central Alumni office

+1 (403) 220-2113
trish.matheson@ucalgary.ca